PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot see where installation occured

pierrefv
July 5th, 2010, 08:59 AM
Hi All
My name is Pierre Viljoen from Durban S.A. and I am a TOTAL newbie!
I am encountering difficulties in the installation of my "10.4 net-book" installation.
I am currently using a "Dell D630 Latitude" with "Windows 7" as my OS.
I downloaded the 10.4net-book installation and burnt it to a DVD.I then proceeded to install it onto my system as an alternative OS as I wanted to try it out before committing to it as my main OS.
After rebooting as required, I could not find where the installation took place, when I insert the disc it asks me if I want to install one of the three options ! I have already done so, have I not?
Please could someone tell me that it is a typical "id10t" error and how to remedy it, not something major which is going to take tons of time and application to rectify.
Many Thanks

SmokeyThePanda
July 5th, 2010, 09:01 AM
I've never messed with a netbook, but you should be able to find it in your boot menu..When you open up the boot menu, it should give you the option to boot in using Ubuntu or Windows 7.

pierrefv
July 5th, 2010, 09:56 AM
Hi Smokie,
Unfortunately it is not showing any options on booting up, it only asks for my normal Windows Password and then proceeds to Win 7.
Thanks
Pierre

SmokeyThePanda
July 5th, 2010, 10:09 AM
I forget exactly how it works...:s I never actually dual booted. I tried it but accidentally deleted my XP partition. Soooo..I forget how to get to the boot menu. I think it's F2 or something, then select hard disk and it gives you your boot options..

yetiman64
July 5th, 2010, 11:14 AM