PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] got wireless working, now not working

mwilkinson
July 4th, 2010, 05:28 PM
I am new to ubuntu, but was able to load it on my iBook g4, and use terminal to put the fwcutter command in to make the wireless work. I continued enjoying ubuntu, and loaded the application ubuntu tweaks. I think whlie messing with the settings that this program allows, I made the wifi radar begin at startup. now my wifi no longer works. lurking around the forums, I saw it mentioned that this might be a problem... Tried to reinstall the fwcutter command, but no change. Wifi radar, when turned on, still finds my network, but will not connect. any help would be appriciated, esp. any help that gives detailed instructions for the non code writing type..

quixote
July 5th, 2010, 10:29 PM
Just a few wild guesses here. Have you tried uninstalling ubuntu-tweaks and reinstalling network-manager-gnome and maybe after that fwcutter?

mwilkinson
July 8th, 2010, 04:21 AM
thanks for answering my cry for help post, Quixote. okay, tried that, even did wifi radar too (all uninstalled and reinstalled thru synaptic package manager) with no luck.. wifi radar shows my wifi, but when I click on it to connect, it brings up a box saying, acquiring IP address (DHCP) and just sits there trying to acquire it. I really dont know what this means; is there a way I can force feed it the IP address? would this even help?

svtguy88
July 8th, 2010, 05:24 AM
Which wireless card do you have? What is the output of
lspci when you run it in a terminal. Look for something associated to the wireless card. I think the iBook uses a Broadcom card IIRC.

Each computer that I've installed Ubuntu on that uses the Broadcom wifi chipset seems finicky. I think there is a problem initializing the device, as it seems to fail most often after the system comes out of sleep mode or first boots up.

Anyway, if you have the Broadcom card, usually simply unloading/reloading the module fixes it for me. Run

lsmod