PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu boots perfectly but searches for an obsolete partition

neo_rocco
July 4th, 2010, 12:01 PM
I just installed Ubuntu 10.04 lucid lynx, I am a beginner but have had experience with Ubuntu distros for about 2 years...

Basically the Ubuntu OS loads perfectly and takes me to desktop, but just prior to loading it searches for an obsolete partition - a primary partition (ext4) that i created when I partitioned my disk using ubuntu live cd wizard.

This partition I deleted and reformatted the unallocated space to NTFS and a new label.
The message I get is:

"The disk drive for /storedv5 is not ready or not present continue to wait or press s to skip mounting or m for manual recovery"

note /storedv5 was the name of the previously deleted partition, it was basically a data store, not a boot partition.

I don't want to see this message every time I boot and if I can have some one time solution it'll be great...so please help me out ubuntu maestros!

cheers

darkod
July 4th, 2010, 01:17 PM
Why did you create it and set amount point with the installer, just to delete it later? If you want to create any additional partitions, just do it later, not with the installer and not setting mount points for them.

Anyway, open fstab with:

gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

and put the # symbol at the start of the line where /storedv5 is mounted. That symbol will make that line be ignored. Save and close the file.

Be careful when editing fstab, making a mistake there can make the system unbootable.

neo_rocco
July 4th, 2010, 02:55 PM
Hi i had no idea it would cause problems later on - i used the partition wizard in place of using gpart or similar program later on, obviously lessons learnt...
below is the fstab file text, as u can see there is already a '#' in front of '/storedv5' so what shall i do? can i just delete the line highlited in blue?

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#