PDA

View Full Version : Ah... I forgot how great coding was...

chessnerd
July 4th, 2010, 06:59 AM
:D Coding is just awesome! :D

I haven't done any real coding since April, when school ended for the summer, and I just started on a project again. It feels great. Why don't I code more? I love coding!

Maybe because I don't have projects... If you guys want you can give me project suggestions. I have two years of Java experience and about a month of self-taught Python.

However, this isn't a plea for projects. It is a fanboi thread about coding.:P

Don't you guys agree that coding is amazingly and awesomely fun and cool?!?! :)

---

If you are interested in hearing about my project, I'm currently coding a little FPS. It will probably be quite lame, but it has a fun back-story:

My mother loves Farmville, and my dad sometimes comments about her obsession with that game. One day, he made a suggestion: combine Call of Duty with Farville so that Panzer Tanks can roll across the fields and the little farm houses can be bombed and such. My mother didn't care for the idea, but I thought it was hilarious.

So, after months of this being an inside joke between us, I'm making an FPS set in the Farville universe and I'm going to show it to him when I finish. I might also show my mom... ;)

If I like how it turns out, I'll post it here so you guys can frag some Farmville-ians too. :)

JDShu
July 4th, 2010, 07:04 AM
Me too :D I love creating things, but I have no artistic skills. Coding allows me to fulfill my creative needs instead :D

rabbotz
July 4th, 2010, 07:05 AM

no.

chessnerd
July 4th, 2010, 07:11 AM
Me too :D I love creating things, but I have no artistic skills. Coding allows me to fulfill my creative needs instead :D

Yeah, even my handwriting is terrible. Coding is pretty much the only "art" I have any real level of skill in.

no.
Wow, you're even more of a buzz-kill than Buzz Killington...

rabbotz
July 4th, 2010, 07:13 AM