PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 install black screen after one minute

naildeca
July 4th, 2010, 03:27 AM
I am installing 10.04 on a HP pavilion. I have downloaded the ubuntu-10.04-desktop-i386.iso (live CD). When I try to boot or install from it, the screen shows the "ubuntu" with the red dots for a minute and then a black screen with no action from the hard drive or the CD drive. I think it should be asking what language I want but presing enter does nothing.
I have been using Ubuntu since 2006 and after yesterday's repartition I installed 6.06 from a live CD so I know I can install from a CD.

CharlesA
July 4th, 2010, 03:29 AM
Try the alternate cd, it's probably not playing nice with yer video drivers.

Rubi1200
July 4th, 2010, 07:17 AM
As suggested above by CharlesA, but you could also try some of the workarounds here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=9543761&postcount=2

Look towards the bottom of the post where oldfred posts links that may help you.

Good luck!

naildeca
July 4th, 2010, 04:31 PM
Thank you, CharlesA.
I had started with the alternate CD but it was corrupted and had repartitioned my hard drive before it got to the corrupted part. I downloaded the alternate file this time doing the md5sum on the .iso file and made another CD, did the md5sum on the CD. Installed OK.

Booted 10.04 but a few seconds in the screen went blank again. Booted again in recovery mode, selected low graphics and it worked.

Thank you also, Rubi1200.
I will check into your suggestions to change the boot options.

I will report back my results.

naildeca
July 4th, 2010, 05:51 PM
Solved!

Thank you, CharlesA and Rubi1200.

I edited /etc/default/grub
Found the line: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
Changed it to: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash i915.modeset=1"
And rebooted.

Rubi1200
July 4th, 2010, 06:08 PM
You are more than welcome! I am glad we were able to help you resolve this.

Feel free to visit and post questions here anytime.

:)