PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] DELL COMPUTER, bAD SECTORS, CANT USE WINDOWS, INSTALLING UBUNU!

Burnsession
July 4th, 2010, 01:54 AM
Im not a beginner or an expert in Ubuntu. I use Ubuntu. My cousin computer is a dell. before they can use windows xp, but its slow as hell, so i boot from a usb with Ubuntu (gnome) so its fast as hell. I could not partition because of bad sectors even though i used chkdisk twice and it so claims it block 2 sectors.on ubuntu, I dont remember exactly but i used a command on the program i believe its called ntfstools. after that when i start on windows there will only a small line (-) in the top right cornerso i guess i could not use it no more. The install option on ubuntu only allows me to erase the hard drive and install ubuntu, my guess because of the sectors. is there a way to get back windows, my cousin like ubuntu i dont mind installing only ubuntu, but they got files on the windows . can ubuntu install with the bad sectors? cuz i never had a problem like this but if it cant partition im scard if it cant install.

rollin
July 4th, 2010, 02:20 AM
I'm not an expert either but to recover the windows files on the pc you should be able to use the ubuntu live usb you mentioned. Once booted into ubuntu live usb just open the file manager and you should be able to see the hard drive icon. Hopefully after a little digging and you can find and copy the windows files onto a cd or another usb!

This link might help with the recovery process: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/use-ubuntu-live-cd-to-backup-files-from-your-dead-windows-computer/

Burnsession
July 4th, 2010, 02:33 AM
Thanks rollin for the link,that solves the file problem. all i need to know now is if ubuntu will install without problems with the bad sector

rollin
July 4th, 2010, 03:09 AM
You're welcome and I'm glad I could help a bit ;-)