PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Newb (Desktop Enviro)

Stormed
July 3rd, 2010, 08:47 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Ubuntu (actually Linux in general) and am trying to get into it. Right now I am just fooling around with the look of my desktop. I have figured out how to mess around with themes and docks a little bit, but I am having two problems. I hope someone can help me. I realize this has most likely been asked before, but I have searched for a while and could not find my answers.

How do I get rid of the default menu system and get a 'task bar' up top like I see in everyone's screen shots? I have uploaded an image to show what I am talking about. (Screen shot -1)
Every once in a while my top bar and bottom dock just disappear visually. Or sometimes my application windows will just disappear visually. I have to reboot to get them back. If I had a video going in youtube for example, I can still hear the sound but I cant see anything (even using alt+tab, etc) I have to attached an image to show this (Screen shot -2)

Thanks for your help,
Stormed

demosthenese
July 3rd, 2010, 10:12 PM
There is a huge variety of docks/launchers/panels you can choose to install to replace the standard panel. You could try awn, or cairo dock, or ...

No idea on your second problem. Sorry.

kerry_s
July 3rd, 2010, 10:40 PM
press-> alt+f2
type-> gnome-panel
(if by chance your using metacity compositing, you need to turn off undecorate in maximus, there not compatible & will make the panel invisible.)

i suspect your using metacity composite with maximus.

Stormed
July 5th, 2010, 08:31 AM
Thanks for the help guys.

What you suggested worked for me Kerry, I turned off undecorate in the gconf-editor.