PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I Need Advice Before Beginning My First Foray Into Linux (sort of complicated)

Smallwheels
July 3rd, 2010, 08:33 PM
My first foray into the Linux world might begin this weekend if all goes well. This isn't terribly complicated but I know I have several steps to handle before I get started. Somebody familiar with hardware as well as software needs to help me out on this one. I have no knowledge of command line stuff but I know it exists and I'll need to do some of it. If the commands are typed correctly in instructions I can duplicate them to the letter.

This is my situation. I have an 11 month old HP Pavilion with an AMD Sempron chip and NVIDIA graphics card. It has Vista and last week Vista got a virus, no thanks to the AVG free anti-virus program. I downloaded Bit Defender and it has deleted the viruses and the computer works except for the browsers. None of them will connect to the internet. The e-mail will still send and receive messages and the printer works, just no browsers. Since I don't know how to fix that problem (HP doesn't either) I'll need to restore Vista. I can either use the OS partition or create some recovery discs and use them.

((((( This section was answered YES. OK, somewhere in that discovering the virus problem I was able to use the browsers temporarily before they stopped working. That is when I downloaded Bit Defender. The second Bit Defender scan deleted the viruses that weren't handled on the first scan. That is when the browsers stopped working for good.