PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] System Slow after AMD and Wireless Install

Gusy
July 2nd, 2010, 07:52 PM
Hi.

I’m not completely inexperienced when it comes to Linux / Unix from a command line point of view, but I have very little day to day experience with a full blown modern graphical OS.

I’ve set up a dual boot system with Windows XP and Linux Mint 9 (64 bit). I haven’t attempted to use Linux as a home OS in about ten years and wanted to see how well a modern, user-friendly distribution would work. I chose Linux Mint 9. Everything started fantastically. I was amazed at how sophisticated this was compared to distributions I had tried years ago.

I’ve been adding software and testing for a few days. Last night, I made two changes almost at the same time, and since then, several things seem to be drastically slower.

First, I attempted an install of my wireless adapter’s drivers using the Wireless Drivers utility. Second, I installed the AMD graphics driver from the 3rd party driver app.

Since then, when I boot, the green screen stays up much much longer. When I log in, I get an error about Power Management failing to respond (and asking if I want to log out before I’ve logged in, if that makes sense). After that, several apps run very slowly or not at all. Firefox runs just fine. Asking the system to shut down takes minutes to show the options list. A terminal window takes minutes to appear. Firefox, on the other hand, comes up right away.

I ran a “top” from the command line to check my CPU usage and there was no noticeable usage. Memory usage was fine too. I can’t even open the Wireless Drivers app anymore. It just hangs indefinitely. I’ve uninstalled the Graphics drivers and a few things seem faster, but most don’t.
Is there any way I can undo what I did? I’m fine without the graphics or wireless drivers. I just want my speedy OS back to play with? Thank you in advance for any advice you can give me.

warfacegod
July 2nd, 2010, 08:39 PM