PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] newbie moving from Red Hat to Ubuntu: which version?

kristo5747
July 2nd, 2010, 07:15 PM
Greetings!

I want to upgrade my Linux Red Hat machine [Client release 5.4 (Tikanga)] to Ubuntu.

Red Hat is not keeping up with the rest of *nix world and I am dealing with a lot of limitations on a daily basis.

My box is a DELL PRECISION T3400. It is a 64 bit machine with 16GB of RAM and 3Gig CPU.

Not sure if it matters but I am an independent developer ; my box currently runs Apache server, PHP, Python, Mysql server, Oracle 10g and IBM DB2 v9.

I need an OS that can satisfy my needs with these apps. What version would you recommend, the 64bit Desktop of 64bit server?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Al.

QIII
July 2nd, 2010, 07:19 PM
64 bit, that much is sure at least.

Desktop or Server really depends on what your primary use is going to be.

Is this primarily for development or as a dedicated server?

(By the way, I also use Fedora. I experience some frustrations with a few things that are not quite up to the current standard of "modernity", but in all it is not a bad distro.)

sydbat
July 2nd, 2010, 07:21 PM
Greetings!

I want to upgrade my Linux Red Hat machine [Client release 5.4 (Tikanga)] to Ubuntu.

Red Hat is not keeping up with the rest of *nix world and I am dealing with a lot of limitations on a daily basis.

My box is a DELL PRECISION T3400. It is a 64 bit machine with 16GB of RAM and 3Gig CPU.

Not sure if it matters but I am an independent developer ; my box currently runs Apache server, PHP, Python, Mysql server, Oracle 10g and IBM DB2 v9.

I need an OS that can satisfy my needs with these apps. What version would you recommend, the 64bit Desktop of 64bit server?

Al.The desktop has the gui already installed, and you can add all the server stuff later. However, if you want the server kernel (I believe it has a different config for...well servers), you can always add the gui after.