PDA

View Full Version : Hi I am new

lorrgibbs
July 2nd, 2010, 05:32 PM
Hi I am new to computers. My son is teaching me how to use Ubuntu Net Book. I have just done a course on Windows and found it confusing. I thought I would come here for help to keep using this. Thought I would introduce myself. Thanks , Lorraine.

BenAshton24
July 2nd, 2010, 05:42 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu forums :)

Shakz
July 2nd, 2010, 06:03 PM
Welcome to the adventure. I just gave my dad an old laptop with an ubuntu based distro on it and he LOVES it!

bigsmitty64
July 2nd, 2010, 06:13 PM
@Lorrgibbs and zico82,

Welcome to the forums. If you stick with it, you'll love it. HERE'S (http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/download_main.html) a guide I have found to be quite helpful. It's free to download, (like most everything with linux :)) Don't be shy about asking questions, you'll be amazed at how many extremely knowledgeable people are willing to help in this community! Good luck!
Smitty

Theft42
July 2nd, 2010, 06:16 PM
Welcome. I am somewhat new to Ubuntu myself but I can definitely tell you its an amazing OS. The community is amazing and very Helpful. So any questions and we will help to the best of our Knowledge.:D

cespinal
July 2nd, 2010, 06:20 PM
Welcome aboard!...I wish you a pleasant stay

tgalati4
July 2nd, 2010, 06:34 PM
As I told my 85-year-old father-in-law, the keyboard is simply a typewriter and an adding machine mashed together. But they still didn't have enough keys so they added a row of Funtion Keys (F1-F12) at the top. And yet they needed one more key to get the heck out of what ever they were doing, so they added the "escape" key.

Welcome and if my father-in-law can check his email regularly, then you can certainly learn Ubuntu.

fatality_uk
July 2nd, 2010, 06:46 PM
AGGGGhhhhhh!!!! NEWBIES!!!

Welcome all. :)

lorrgibbs
July 2nd, 2010, 07:37 PM
Thanks everyone and thanks for the book download it will be useful

NMFTM
July 2nd, 2010, 07:54 PM