PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Basic Network setup help

netwidget
July 2nd, 2010, 06:22 AM
Please help.

I am new to Linux, ubuntu, and I only know a little about networking. I am very, very, very, frustrated with IP addressing, hostnames, file sharing, etc.

I trying to setup up a network in my house that has the following pieces to it. File server, printer server, access to the internet; Client computers: wireless laptops, desktops (with eternet and wireless), apple TV with XBMC (ethernet).

I have DSL through Qwest (netopia router, ISP DNS settings) and another wireless router (set up on netopia as pass through) acting as a DHCP server to wireless and cabled computer (cable to router).

server is named servermain. It is running Ubuntu Server 10.04 AMD64. I have set up directories on servermain and set them (the folders) to exported with read write privileges.

The exports file on servermain has this line in it for mounting folder '/':

/ laptop1(rw)

;where 'laptop1' is the name of the client computer to be given rights to '/' on servermain.

in laptop1's fstab file it reads:

servermain:/ /home/username/server nfs

The nfs-kernel-server is installed on servermain and nfs-common is installed in laptop1.

when I type $ sudo mount -a, I get the following message:

"mount.nfs; DNS resolution failed for servermain: Name or service not known"

My questions are does the DHCP server resolve computer names? I did not setup a domain when I installed and setup servermain does it need one? Does the domain have to be FQDN or can it be anything made up that does not resolve anywhere except to the internal DHCP server on the LAN? What is the hostname vs the DNS name vs the domain name? How does my computers on the LAN know to look for each other?