PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I am a newbie, and I watch movies in Ubuntu using the movie player

didkaticos
July 2nd, 2010, 03:18 AM
[FIRST MISTAKE: IT MUST SAY I am a newbie and I WANT to watch movies in Ubuntu using the movie player] Sorry!

OK, yes, I already said everything: I am a newbie, in his 40's, not a geek, not a good English speaker. Those are my disadvantages. I am 100% fan of Ubuntu, eager to learn, and hater of Windows (which, by the way, I must use at work): these are my strengths.

The only two things that had stopped my of being a 100% Ubuntu user are iPhone (iTunes) and not being able to play DVDs using the movie player. The iPhone issue is already solved: I synchronize it at my office. So, the only thing left is the DVD issue.

I tried to set up the player a couple of months ago. I look on the Internet, here at the forum, and also from some other place (I don't remember the name), and I followed some suggestions. It didn't work. My Ubuntu crashed couple of weeks ago (about the same time that the Ubuntu 10.04 was released. My problem: kernel panic). I tried to get some help from this forum (now I cannot find my post), but I had to un-installed it, and installed it again. It was a pain: I lost a lot of documents, besides the set-up. But I still like Ubuntu, even if I had to deal with some issues.

If someone can help me with some simple suggestions about what is the easiest way to set up the movie maker to be able to play DVDs. I am still with the old Ubuntu System: Ubuntu 9.10 - the Karmic Koala. I got a little afraid after last kernel panic: I remember that I had to do an update, and crash happened afterwards.

Please don't tell me to enter manually any kind of data unless it is totally necessary. If I could get snapshots, it would be easier.

Thanks a lot for your help, and thanks a lot to Ubuntu, and the Ubuntu community.

didkaticos

kerry_s
July 2nd, 2010, 04:06 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

radixx