PDA

View Full Version : Q for professional developers

fashoom
July 1st, 2010, 11:29 PM
Hi, I'm a java developer and I've always developed in a Windows environment. Question I have is -- when a shop says they do development on Linux, are they likely using 'raw Linux' and installing developer tools and such w/ pkgadd or does everyone use distributions like Ubuntu these days w/ a modern desktop where installing applications is rather 'Windows-like'? Again, I'm talking about software development shops here, not general users.

Thanks for any help.

wmcbrine
July 2nd, 2010, 04:27 AM
There's no such thing as "raw Linux". Everyone uses a distro of some kind, and always has. But of course the distros vary widely.

I'm not sure what "pkgadd" is, outside a Solaris context. Linux distros tend to fall into one of two camps, Debian-based (which includes Ubuntu), or RPM-based. There are also some distros outside these camps. What the shop uses will depend in part on what they're doing -- server stuff? embedded? -- and on whether they're developing "on" Linux, or merely for it.

Anyway, it doesn't matter. They will surely provide you with the tools you need, and in fact they might not let you handle your own installation.

Installation of apps in Ubuntu is not Windows-like at all, BTW. And if your real question is about GUI vs. CLI... you can install apps either way in Ubuntu, and in pretty much every other distro. Most distros can run with or without GUIs. (Server and embedded environments would tend to run without. Your development desktop is another issue.)

fashoom
July 2nd, 2010, 08:38 AM
OK tnx, that was super helpful. Can you explain what you meant by the last bit, "Your development desktop is another issue"?

ad_267
July 2nd, 2010, 08:56 AM
Hope you don't mind if I jump in and answer.