PDA

View Full Version : Using bash commands to do a operation dependant file copy?

BastardNamban
July 1st, 2010, 03:17 AM
I just recently learned what bash commands are- I'd been using some before I realized they had a name.

I have a common problem- I am copying large amounts of files (~70 GB) to a new 10.04 install for my younger brother. I was just wondering, is there a way to "schedule" the copy of a folder to a specific location- and have it be time dependent on when a current file copy operation ends? That way, it would copy when one finishes- in the middle of the night, and finish while I sleep.

I'm sure everyone must be doing this, but I can't figure out how- I'm really, really green with bash commands- I've used linux for a few years now, but not much in terminal.

I figure "-n" or "watch" commands might be involved. Any ideas? Thanks if you can assist a total newb to this stuff, I'm reading guides on bash, but I don't see anything about this kind of operation.

trent.josephsen
July 1st, 2010, 03:56 AM
cp -a /my/file /some/destination1; cp -a /my/folder /some/destination2
will run the second copy only after the first completes, but if you're copying multiple files to the same location you can copy them all at once; i.e.

cp -a /my/file /some/destination; cp -a /my/folder /some/destination
is the same as the following:

cp -a /my/file /my/folder /some/destination