PDA

View Full Version : Ide

MATThematical
June 30th, 2010, 01:05 AM
Hi, all!

Can anyone recommend a good IDE for Ubuntu that supports multiple programming languages? I'm just starting to learn programming and in particular, I'd like to have an IDE that supports both BASIC and C, as well as other languages.

Simian Man
June 30th, 2010, 01:08 AM
BASIC is very rarely used as a general purpose programming language any more. C is still commonly used, but isn't a great choice for beginners because it makes certain things much more challenging than other languages. Is there a particular reason you want to learn those two?

flick
June 30th, 2010, 01:31 AM
Eclipse seems to be a popular IDE.

MATThematical
June 30th, 2010, 04:08 AM
BASIC is very rarely used as a general purpose programming language any more. C is still commonly used, but isn't a great choice for beginners because it makes certain things much more challenging than other languages. Is there a particular reason you want to learn those two?

I was reading a book (Beginning Programming for Dummies) and it said that BASIC is a good starting point, as well as C. Do you have any suggestions for a good starting point?

Yes
June 30th, 2010, 04:56 AM
How old is that book?

I'd say start with something like C, but I'm sure there are going to be tons of people who will disagree with me. I don't know if anyone would suggest starting with BASIC though.

Simian Man
June 30th, 2010, 12:38 PM
I'd personally suggest Python. It's a very powerful language with a nice syntax and without a lot of the dark corners that C has. It also is used for a lot of Linux software so there are plenty of libraries and support available.

maximinus_uk
June 30th, 2010, 01:39 PM
I don't think anyone will suggest starting with Basic. Personally, I would learn with Python because it's got lots of libraries to do the hard work for you and a tone of resources on the internet to get you started.

surfer
June 30th, 2010, 02:25 PM