PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading to 64bit

alanrlow
June 28th, 2010, 01:20 PM
I have been running Ubuntu on an old Acer Aspire laptop for several years without a glitch and recently upgraded to a newer core two duo laptop.
I cloned the HD from the old to the new laptop without a problem, despite being told it wouldn't work, (he only knew *******)
The thing is now that I have a 64bit processor I would like to upgrade to the 64bit version of Ubuntu, (without losing my data of course)
My new system is an, Acer TravelMate 6410 with 160gb SATA HD setup as:

SDA1 20gb ROOT
SDA3 45gb extended partition
SDA5 45gb home partition in the extended partition
SDA4 5gb swap
SDA2 80gb partition for other stuff.

I am thinking that if I do an install but don't format the home partition (SDA5) everything should be OK.
My only other concern is setting up all the programs I have now, like VirtualBox, all my Wine programs, all the extra games etc I have installed. Could I create an APTonCD disk and put it back that way?

Any advice greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Alan.

robsoles
June 28th, 2010, 01:24 PM
Hi alanrlow,

I have been running 64 bit (AMD64) for a while, on an intel atom n450 based lappie, and there are a couple of things that are slightly more painful but overall it is f'n brilliant!!!

Just be careful that you don't mark the partition you have been using for '/home' for formatting as you install and it should be fine - you'll need to cope with manual partitioning but to have a seperate '/home' partition you or someone you know already coped with that once anyway!!!!

Ask more questions if you are still unsure till you are sure and then bite that bullet and commit - 2nd worst case scenario is that you end up reinstalling the 32 bit version of Ubuntu instead!