PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Newbie

EinhanderSoul
June 28th, 2010, 12:57 PM
Hi All Ubuntu Users!

As you can see from the title of this thread, I'm now going out to leave my Windows environment and find out what's it likes to be a Linux (Ubuntu) OS user!

I just hope that this experience would be fun, engaging etc. in Ubuntu as much as I have in using Windows for years.

Now there are a lot of questions circulating on my head right now, since I'm new to this that shouldn't be too surprising.

Here are some:

1. Is it easy to use like Windows?
2. How do I install drivers and such?
3. Is it gonna hurt my computer?
4. Is installing Ubuntu on my computer easy?

I know this might be a wee old computer, consider it as a test machine.

Here are my specs:

Pentium 4, 2.4GHz
512MB of RAM
Dell Optiplex GX260
30 GB of Hard Disk space

Video: Nvidia GeForce2 Mx/MX 400
Sound: SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Network: Intel 8254x1000 Integrated Network
Chipset: Intel 845G

dondiego2
June 28th, 2010, 01:09 PM

1. Yes, I find it easier to use than Windows. I made the switch in January.
2. Download the latest version of Ubuntu and copy the ISO image to the disk. I had a separate HD that I installed mine on but you will have to repartition your HD if you want to keep Windows (which I think you should at first). Make sure you are hooked up to the internet via a wired connection. I'm sure you will have a few questions if you get this far but don't worry about drivers. Ubuntu does a good job of finding them by itself. Then if you have any specific problems this forum can help you.
3. Ubuntu does not hurt computers - operators do. The only problem you could have is in the partitioning with such a small HD
4. See #3.

robsoles
June 28th, 2010, 01:14 PM
Hi,

Welcome weary ******* sufferer!!!