PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu, Ubuntu, Where Art Thou, oh Ubuntu?

snerk
June 28th, 2010, 11:45 AM
I just installed UBuntu 10.04 64 bit (dual booting with Windows 7, 64 bit).

My primary problems are:

============== BEGIN PROBLEMS =====================

1) The ONLY icon visible on the desktop is "WD Smartware".

Using it, I can browse my drives (except for an extended FAT drive, which seems unrecognized).

2) I sought a means of accessing a CLI (many years ago, I was a Unix developer - primarily in C, of course - and wanted to "go" where I would be more comfortable - a CLI).

Finding no CLI access, I googled it (under Windows), and read that it was in a chain beginning with "Applications" (e.g., Applications->Foo->CLI).

However, I see no icon labeled "Applications". I've brought up both high level context menus available (the menu for "WD SmartWare", and the menu for the desktop background, and see no "Applications" menu option).

3) I see no means of browsing the internet. Wait, I found an html file. If I double click it, the Firefox application opens.

I can the enter the URL I desire. However, I've found no means of starting Firefox other than double clicking an app-associated file.

4) I see no means of shutting the system down (other than a hard shutdown with on/off switch or pulling the cord).

5) A dialog, something like the following, keeps popping up :

---------- Grant access to 00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805F9B34FB ---------

Device 'Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Keyboard 8000' wants access
to service 00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805F9B34FB.

<Checkbox="Always grant access"> <button="Reject"> <button="Grant">
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I check the "always grant" checkbox, and click the "Grant" button.

The dialog box disapppears, but as As far as I can tell, it has no other effect.

Eventually, the dialog pops up again.

*** This behavior MAY have stopped. I'll investigate.