PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] error booting

obengsn
June 28th, 2010, 05:58 AM
i have mistakenly deleted a partition to create space after uninstalling Ubuntu. now my computer says

GRUB loading.
error: no such partition
grub rescue>

i am a newbie and have no idea how to get to win 7

somebody pls help

Rubi1200
June 28th, 2010, 06:53 AM
Hi,
first of all if you have the Ubuntu CD you can use it to boot the computer. Follow the instructions here:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

and post back to the forums and hopefully someone can help you resolve this problem.

Good luck!

lolzwut
June 28th, 2010, 06:55 AM
You deleted the grub. Boot into windows using the CD and reinstall the MBR. I'm pretty sure you can do it with easyBCD, someone correct me if I'm wrong.

wilee-nilee
June 28th, 2010, 07:24 AM
You deleted the grub. Boot into windows using the CD and reinstall the MBR. I'm pretty sure you can do it with easyBCD, someone correct me if I'm wrong.

The second post is the best advice.

obengsn
June 28th, 2010, 08:50 AM
Boot Info Script 0.55 dated February 15th, 2010

============================= Boot Info Summary: ==============================

=> Grub 2 is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and looks on the same drive in
partition #5 for /boot/grub.

sda1: __________________________________________________ _______________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System:
Boot files/dirs: /BOOTMGR /boot/BCD

sda2: __________________________________________________ _______________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System: Windows 7
Boot files/dirs: /bootmgr /Boot/BCD /Windows/System32/winload.exe

sda3: __________________________________________________ _______________________

File system: Extended Partition
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info: