PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please help -- trouble installing on HP Pavilion dv6-2044el

jorgengb
June 26th, 2010, 05:35 PM
Hi,

I am trying to install Ubuntu 10.04 on my laptop, a rather new HP Pavilion dv6-2044el. Windows 7 is already installed, so I've tried "installation inside Windows".

I have been using Ubuntu for at least a couple of years, and this is the first time there is no way to complete an installation :confused:: The process halts after restarting the system.

A few months ago I managed to install Ubuntu 9.10 on this laptop without any trouble, before disinstalling it.

I have tried:

ubuntu-10.04-desktop-i386.iso
ubuntu-10.04-desktop-amd64.iso

both from

a CD and
an USB flash drive,

always with the same frustrating result.

I tried also to install 9.10 first and then upgrade to 10.4, but the upgrade didn't work either.

Today I even tried Maverick Meerkat (maverick-desktop-i386.iso) from a USB flash drive, but it also halted during the process.

I would really appreciate any suggestions !

Jorgengb

[tags: HP, Hewlett Packard, Pavilion, 2044el, Lucid Lynx, Maverick Meerkat]

Additional info:

When booting from USB drive with Maverick Meerkat:
UNetbook

then I get the following message with a flashing underscore after it, and nothing more happens:
FATAL: Error inserting ramzswap [...] Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

When running Wubi on a USB drive with Maverick Meerkat:
after a while, the installer says "Installing Ubuntu-10.04" and starts to download ubuntu-10.04-desktop-amd64.iso.torrent
(Why? The more recent Maverick Meerkat should already be on the USB drive, and anyway I didn't start from a 64 bit Meerkat but from maverick-desktop-i386.iso).

bcbc
June 27th, 2010, 02:10 AM