PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot Win 7 Pro

odatkid
June 26th, 2010, 05:49 AM
Hi All,
I intend to install Ubuntu 10.4 on a partition on my win7 Pro machine. I'm very new to linux and don't know what file system to format the partition with. Anything else I should know before I install? Both are 64bit.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks........Tom

wilee-nilee
June 26th, 2010, 06:27 AM
Hi All,
I intend to install Ubuntu 10.4 on a partition on my win7 Pro machine. I'm very new to linux and don't know what file system to format the partition with. Anything else I should know before I install? Both are 64bit.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks........Tom

Do you want to do a wubi install or dual boot, you mention on a partition but it helps to know what you understand, it is the format part that makes me ask this.

darkod
June 26th, 2010, 01:12 PM
If you plan to make a full ubuntu install, you can't create the partition from windows. And you need to have unallocated space on the hdd not belonging to any partition.

Then when you start the ubuntu installer just use the Use Largest Available Free space option which will install it into the unallocated space.

odatkid
June 26th, 2010, 02:42 PM
Hi Guys,
Thank you for your replies. Sorry I wasn't more clear. I want to dual boot with Win 7 Pro. Here is exactly how the Win 7 Pro drive is now partitioned:

"System Reserve" 100MB Healthy (System)

(C) 49.90 GB NTFS Healthy (Boot, Page File, CrashDump, Primary Partition)

(E) 50.00 GB NTFS Healthy (Primary Partition) (100% Free)

New Volume (D) 365.76 GB NTFS Healthy (Logical Drive) (100% Free)

I was thinking of installing Ubuntu on the "E" partition and dual booting with Win 7 Pro. I wanted to use the "D" partition as storage space for data from both OS's. I ran the install CD and got to the point of formatting the partition but don't know which file system would be the ideal choice.