PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GPARTED resize and move nightmare - [PLEASE HELP]

rmp73
June 25th, 2010, 12:06 PM
Can you please help? I'm not a total novice, but I'm a relative noob, particularly when it comes to Linux command line syntax etc.

I've a 200GB HDD in my Vaio laptop, which had 3 partitions on it:
sda1 ext4 /root Ubuntu 10.04 - 10GB
sda2 ext4 /home data files - approx 186GB
sda3 swap - 2.5GB

As I wanted to update my iPhone to iOS4, which requires iTunes 9.3 and that won't run in VirtualBox and I was having a mare getting VMWare installed for some reason, I decided yesterday to 'resize and move' my /home partition to create a 30GB partition for Windows 7 on partition 2 (I saw a post recommending it follow /dev/sda1 for ease of GRUB setup or something similar).

So, I created a GPARTED LiveDisk USB and kicked off the process of 'resizing and moving' the partition /dev/sda2 and creating a /dev/sda3 partition formatted to NTFS. NOTE: I did not read anywhere (beforehand) that I needed to 'disable swap' so I didn't - in case that's of any importance here.

When I got up this morning, I saw error messages on the GPARTED screen and something telling me that the errors had been saved to a .htm file somewhere, which at 4.30am I forgot to note down as I had a 4-hour drive ahead of me.

Suffice to say, something went wrong with the reduction of the partition and its subsequent move (during the move, I believe). I've managed to restart the laptop (in recovery mode I think) and I'm at the command line after receiving an error about not being able to mount (sda2 where /home was) a partition, which I chose to 'manually fix/mount' and received this command line prompt text:

**starts**
Filesystem check or mount failed;
A maintenance shell will now be started.
CONTROL-D will terminate this shell and continue booting after re-trying filesystems. Any further errors will be ignored
**ends**

First of all, I ran this lot:

**starts**
root@ryan-laptop:~# fsck