PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] PXE diskless Ubuntu Setup

rexzhen
June 24th, 2010, 07:54 PM
I have a PXE server which installed DHCP TFTP AND NFS service. and set them up followed by https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DisklessUbuntuHowto

the boot process hanged here:

ipconfig: eth0: SIOCGIFUNDEX: No such device
ipconfig: no devices to configure
[-n eho]
. /tmp/net-eth0.conf
/init: line 3: can't open /tmp/net-eth0.conf

After I google and research it for a couple of days. Nothing helpful.

what i did try to work around is,

1. set portfast to all the ports connected the PXE server and client.
2. edit pxelinux.cfg/default, try different setting in "ip=" ( i did not find any manu in the internet which explain to to configure this file)

Help please.

nerdzero
June 24th, 2010, 08:37 PM
Hi rexzhen,

I have no experience with PXE servers but I checked Launchpad and it seems there is a bug which is probably causing your issue: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/181258

rexzhen
June 25th, 2010, 02:26 AM
Hi,

Thank you for your quick reply. I read that post. But I do not know how to do the patch.
Like the last post, we have a link http://paste.ubuntu.com/427631/
but how to use it?

nerdzero
June 25th, 2010, 03:07 AM
Sorry, applying patches to the kernel/initrd source and recompiling them is still beyond me. Maybe an expert on those will come along and help. One thing I noticed though looking over the How-to you used as a source...

NOTE: If the client source installation you copied the files from should remain bootable and usable from local hard disk, restore the former BOOT=local and MODULES=most options you changed in /etc/initramfs-tools/initramfs.conf. Otherwise, the first time you update the kernel image on the originating installation, the initram will be built for network boot, giving you "can't open /tmp/net-eth0.conf" and "kernel panic". Skip this step if you no longer need the source client installation.

Setup your client