PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A PLEA for help with Catalyst 10.6 install

Dr. Righteous
June 23rd, 2010, 05:38 PM
Hello all.

I'm new to linux in general and so far I am IN LOVE with it.
My windows machine is a "toy" only now. :p

Let me preface this by saying I work from home and rely on a "solid work computer" to get my job done.
That is an old but very reliable Pentium 4 machine.
1 gig or RAM the video card is a ATI HD2600 256M video card.
I run 2 Acer 1440x900 monitors in extended desk top. This is necessary so I can view everything at a glance without hunting for what I need to see.
I'm running Ubuntu 10.4 32bit and it has been a PLEASURE up to this point accept for one things. The 2D graphics are a bit sluggish.
When the new Catalyst 10.6 driver was release with updated to OpenGL and much improved 2D performance.
So a bit of Googling and I found several "methods" to install the driver since it isn't in the regular software channel for Ubuntu.
Well, following what seemed to be the correct procedure I basically hosed my system yesterday. After much backtracking I was able to get the video working well enough to get my work done. At this point it doesn't work as well as it did when I attempted to install the 10.6 driver.
If anyone can help here, I need a DE FACTO procedure to install the Catalyst 10.6 driver on my system. I know this will have to be done via command line (I was great with DOS back in the day) but like I said, I'm a newbie with Linux.
Thanks for the help in advance!

doas777
June 23rd, 2010, 05:46 PM