PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] thunderbird mail

shipinomore
June 23rd, 2010, 03:10 PM
trying to install Thunderbird mail.
used kpackagekit to try and find it but no luck. how can I install the latest version?
I tried to install Kmail but it seems to hang up and never get the account set up.
Larry

ashwinrao
June 23rd, 2010, 03:14 PM
First download and install Ubuntu Tweak by referring to this (http://ubuntu-tweak.com/downloads/) link. After that, you can find all the necessary packages easily including Thunderbird :p

Bucky Ball
June 23rd, 2010, 03:14 PM
You open a search engine, search for Mozilla Thunderbird, click the mouse a few times and end up here:

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/products/

Scroll to Thunderbird and click on it. Download, install.

Install Ubuntu Tweak??

shipinomore
June 23rd, 2010, 03:38 PM
thank you. I will try again to do a tar install. I am somewhat new to ubuntu and very fuzzy on installs.
I also did the tweak thing and added to other souurces.
Larry

Thelasko
June 23rd, 2010, 03:40 PM
Am I missing something? What's wrong with "sudo apt-get install mozilla-thunderbird"?

shipinomore
June 23rd, 2010, 04:12 PM
THELASKO

I did the apt-get and it came back and said that I should use thunderbird and so I did sudo apt-get install thunderbird and all went ok.
I think perhaps it was because I had started the tar file in terminal and had got as far as starting to set up my account and then lost the screen I was on by closing the terminal window which had created the imput screen.
Thank You
Larry

shipinomore
June 23rd, 2010, 04:25 PM
ashwinrao
I did put the tweak into the site thru the terminal.
not familuar with hou it works.
when using kpackagekit will it allow for more programs to come up to install?
Larry

Thelasko
June 23rd, 2010, 04:41 PM
THELASKO

I did the apt-get and it came back and said that I should use thunderbird and so I did sudo apt-get install thunderbird and all went ok.

I must have gotten the name wrong.