PDA

View Full Version : Problem in "porting" a function on windows to linux?

jeremy28
June 23rd, 2010, 12:04 PM
Hi all!

I use ubuntu 9.04;
I have a function called "isLogEnabled" in my project on windows, I wanna port it to linux.
I know that I should have a "config.h" file in linux to get log from a specific Shared object and ..., but because I'm new to linux,
I don't know how this should be done, this is my function:

//This function return True if log policy is set in registry and False otherwise
int isLogEnabled()
{
HKEY hKey;
LONG lRes;
DWORD dwType, dwSize = 0;
int retVal = 0;

if((RegOpenKeyEx(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "SOFTWARE\\MyCorp", 0, KEY_ALL_ACCESS, &hKey)) == ERROR_SUCCESS)
{
lRes = RegQueryValueEx(hKey, "SpecialMode", 0, &dwType, NULL, &dwSize );

if(lRes == ERROR_SUCCESS)
retVal = 1;
RegCloseKey(hKey);
}
return retVal;
}

Since I think we don't have registry concept in linux and this function uses registry APIs, I'm confused to change it to be compatible with linux;

Could you help me with this please?!
TIA.

slavik
June 23rd, 2010, 12:09 PM
use a config file.

nrs
June 23rd, 2010, 12:42 PM
They closest you'll get to something registry like on Linux is gconf. Don't use gconf. Config files ftw.

jeremy28
June 30th, 2010, 03:00 PM
Hi and thanks for your replies!

My config file would only contain "retVal = 1", because this is the return value of "isLogEnabled" function and in my main function it's checked as below:

if(isLogEnabled())
initLogger(LOG_FILE);

If I don't use the libconfig functions and just want to load the config file content(retval), what should I do?

I mean:
I should open a gedit text and only write "retval=1" in it, I name it "Mainconf" but I don't know what would I define it's extension(.cfg or .config or ...)?

I should save it in /etc directory, now how can I load it to my program to check it and what would be the alternative for the part:

if(isLogEnabled())
initLogger(LOG_FILE);

in linux?