PDA

View Full Version : SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop + 1 year standard subscription

e24ohm
June 21st, 2010, 02:16 PM
Folks:
I need to learn SUSE for a client; however, I am a pro Ubuntu user, and know nothing of SUSE.

But my main question - what is the '1-year standard subscription"? Is this only for help support, or are updates included with this subscription? If the subscription is not renewed, are security updates still available?

ubunterooster
June 21st, 2010, 02:20 PM
I used OpenSUSE which has neither fee but I believe that the fee does apply to updates as well as support.

Edit: Yes, fee needs be paid "to get patches and updates" : P

e24ohm
June 21st, 2010, 02:46 PM
I used OpenSUSE which has neither fee but I believe that the fee does apply to updates as well as support.

Edit: Yes, fee needs be paid "to get patches and updates" : P
is OpenSUSE the samething as Enterprise, but without the support?

ubunterooster
June 21st, 2010, 02:51 PM
Yes, and without the license to use as a professional workspace, but fine for home PCs

Dragonbite
June 21st, 2010, 03:43 PM
I would suggest you should join the openSUSE forum, and use that as a resource for how to do things the SUSE way. Yes, the paid-for SUSE Linux Enterprise edition is different than openSUSE, but there are plenty of similarities too.

e24ohm
June 21st, 2010, 03:59 PM
I would suggest you should join the openSUSE forum, and use that as a resource for how to do things the SUSE way. Yes, the paid-for SUSE Linux Enterprise edition is different than openSUSE, but there are plenty of similarities too.
Nah...that would be to easy. *smiles* thanks for the suggestion, and to tell you the truth. After your suggestion I have started researching over there.

thanks.

Dragonbite
June 21st, 2010, 04:42 PM
Nah...that would be to easy. *smiles* thanks for the suggestion, and to tell you the truth. After your suggestion I have started researching over there.

thanks.