PDA

View Full Version : Fully switch to Linux

Reggaeton King
March 28th, 2006, 03:01 AM
Has anyone fully switch to Linux completely? I am thinking about doing too. But I am a web developer and I use DW 8. That has nothing to do with it but my point is, it's not Windows but the software I can not let go.

NeghVar
March 28th, 2006, 03:09 AM
Ive been fully switched for a while. you can check out crossover office for certain software, I'm not sure if it supports the latest dw but im pretty sure it does support other dw and they are probly workin on the newest 1, same with ps all the way up to the cs versions i believe.

http://www.codeweavers.com/

thats the website, ive heard a fair bit of good stuff about them.

Cyril
March 28th, 2006, 03:11 AM
Have you tried running DW 8 with wine?

mrgnash
March 28th, 2006, 03:15 AM
I would, since I don't need any Windows software but I don't know how to get rid of my XP partition so that Linux will be able to use the space :( Otherwise, it would be gone just like that *clicks fingers*

Oh and I wouldn't bother with Crossover Office... I tried to get Quicktime/iTunes (thanks for the DRM nightmare Apple!) running under that thing and it was a horrible, buggy, frustrating experience.

Commercial software: it's a pox.

NeghVar
March 28th, 2006, 03:22 AM
If you already have an install up and running and assuming your using Grub as your boot manager. Just get Gparted from synaptic then have it delete yr xp partition and then set it up as ext3 or which ever file system you prefer.

If you want to do a fresh install then just delete all the offending partitions when you install.

endersshadow
March 28th, 2006, 03:25 AM
Has anyone fully switch to Linux completely? I am thinking about doing too. But I am a web developer and I use DW 8. That has nothing to do with it but my point is, it's not Windows but the software I can not let go.