PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on an existing linux partition

GeorgeOfTheBush
June 20th, 2010, 08:55 AM
I already have Ubuntu 10.04 32bit version installed on a partition. Instead of the 32-bit version, I would like to install the 64-bit version on the same partition.

I have a Parted Magic Live DVD and also Ubuntu 64bit OS on a DVD.

How should I proceed?

Should I just point to the ext4 partition on which Ubuntu is installed and format it?

I am an Ubuntu Newbie and not good with partitions and formatting.

mmanjrekar
June 20th, 2010, 09:00 AM
any specific reason u want to change from 32-bit to 64 bit when everything is working fine ?

any ways ... when installing the 64-bit should ideally give you the option of retaining everything when u point it to the same partition. do not format.

GeorgeOfTheBush
June 20th, 2010, 09:07 AM
Just want to try it out. I heard its better than the 32bit version.

GeorgeOfTheBush
June 20th, 2010, 09:10 AM
I couldn't find any option to install on the existing partition itself.

cuberts
June 20th, 2010, 09:14 AM
I already have Ubuntu 10.04 32bit version installed on a partition. Instead of the 32-bit version, I would like to install the 64-bit version on the same partition.

I have a Parted Magic Live DVD and also Ubuntu 64bit OS on a DVD.

How should I proceed?

Should I just point to the ext4 partition on which Ubuntu is installed and format it?

I am an Ubuntu Newbie and not good with partitions and formatting.If you are a newbie, then resizing the partition and all of that will probably get really complicated for you. I think that the best way for you to do this would be actually creating a new partition for the 64 bit. So this will add another option on the GRUB menu. This is the easiest way that I can see to do it. Hope this helps.

GeorgeOfTheBush
June 20th, 2010, 11:30 AM