PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems on Upgrade.

tattushenoi
June 19th, 2010, 01:41 AM
I am relatively new to Linux. Only a few weeks old. I had Karmic Koala installed on my system along with windows xp. I have 3 partitions. 15Gb for Linux. 18 for XP and one 43 Gb for data.

I upgraded to Lucid Lynx recently. I have 2 queries.

1) In Karmic Koala I had set passwords to open my partitions. But after I upgraded to Lucid Lynx, the partitions are opening without asking for a password. But if I try to install a program it asks for authentication. Only while opening a partition it is not asking anything.

I want Ubuntu to ask for a password everytime I open a partition. What should I do?

2) After the upgrade I chose to keep the 'present version of grub' when asked for choice[maintainers version etc etc]. But now I get to see the option for Karmic Koala login as well in grub. But if I try to select that it says there is no such thing installed and rightly so. I want that extra option removed as Karmic Koala is no longer there.

Please provide suggestions.

tattushenoi
June 19th, 2010, 01:42 AM
To add about the Grub problem, I got this when I ran sudo update-grub.

tattushenoi@TATTUS:~$ sudo su
[sudo] password for tattushenoi:
root@TATTUS:/home/tattushenoi# sudo update-grub
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-23-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-23-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-22-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-22-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found Microsoft Windows XP Professional on /dev/sda2
done
root@TATTUS:/home/tattushenoi#

tattushenoi
June 20th, 2010, 03:00 AM
any one?:confused:

tattushenoi
June 24th, 2010, 06:42 AM
Any one with solution?

tattushenoi
July 6th, 2010, 03:05 AM
Some one help me please.

tattushenoi
July 11th, 2010, 05:42 AM
now after one more upgrade 3 options are being shown....22 23 and 24...how do i remove them ?