PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No Windows Boot Manager screen

LittleWolf
June 18th, 2010, 04:24 AM
Hello!

I hope I am not posting on the wrong section; I tried to do multiple searches but could not find my specific problem. Your forums are quite intimidating for me, seeing as this is the first time I try Linux and I picked Ubuntu as my distribution. I have read many guides before I decided, everything has been cleared up, backed up, defragmented and set up.

I got Wubi since I have no partitioning experience, following this guide by psychocats:

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/wubi

Everything went just like the guide said it would at first. My problem is, once I reboot, I don't get the Windows Boot Manager screen at all; more specifically this screen:

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/images/wubilucidthumb07.png

It just reboots as windows like nothing ever happened, and the other boot options are not related to either wubi or ubuntu at all.

As the sticky indicated, I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling wubi several times with the same results.

I am very sorry if this is a common problem posted before, but I have spent the better part of the day googling and searching the forums and I am hopelessly lost. :(

Technical information (more on request):

Windows XP Media Center Edition
HP Pavillon a1520n
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core
Processor 3800+
NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE
250 GB

===================== SOLUTION =====================

For this particular problem, it was resolved by changing my boot.ini file's timeout value with a lot of help, from this:

[B]timeout=0
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S

[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Media Center Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /TUTag=U8OPLA /Kernel=TUKernel.exe
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Media Center Edition (TuneUp Backup)" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /TUTag=U8OPLA-BAK