PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] triple monitor setup



tpatil
June 16th, 2010, 05:47 AM
I am having a bit of difficulty getting my system to do triple/quad monitor setup. i can get screen 0 and 1 to turn on but not screen 2 which is on the other video card(AGP). BusID is checked and correct. system boots from PCI graphics card(GeForce 6200). On screen 2, i tried both analog/digital inputs. i prefer to use digital input of the flat panel.
any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

below is my current xorg.conf:


Section "ServerLayout"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "0"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 1600 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" 3280 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Nokia 445Xi"
HorizSync 30.0 - 102.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 120.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "ViewSonic VX2025wm"
HorizSync 30.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0

EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-1"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6200"
BusID "PCI:2:1:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6200"
BusID "PCI:2:1:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7800 GS"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1600x1200_60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1680x1050_60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1280x1024_60 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Device2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "1280x1024_60 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Outaworkp0rnstar
June 16th, 2010, 07:12 PM
Also having a similar problem with triple (monitors) setup. Using Nvidia card (2) with onboard Intel (1) and initially tried to set up using Nvidia-Settings but doesn't detect the onboard device for 3rd screen. Have been playing around with xorg.conf and I'm wondering if my Bus ID on the devices in my conf file is correct which I'm getting from from $ lspci ??


00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
03:09.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34GL [Quadro NVS 280 PCI] (rev a1)


Is there another GUI display management tool available to sudo apt-get install? Any help appreciated

Refer xorg.conf below;


# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
##


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
Screen 2 "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection


Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection


Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:03:09.0"
Screen 0
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:03:09.0"
Screen 1
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard2"
Driver "Intel"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "82865G Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:00:02.0"
Screen 2
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "1280x1024 +0+0; 1280x960 +0+0; 1152x864 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; 832x624 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1280x1024 +0+0"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Videocard2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1280x1024 +0+0"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

tpatil
June 16th, 2010, 09:46 PM
@Outaworkp0rnstar: this is what i know so far to be true from searching around:- BFOR PROCEEDING, PLS SAVE THE ORIGINAL
XORG.CONF as xorg.conf_(usually datecode)_(what is new)

1. BusID should be in format: BusID "PCI:x:x:x"
so in your case please update your xorg.conf to reflect:
BusID "PCI:03:09.0" -> BusID "PCI:3:9:0"

2. Screen should always be in absolute coordinates
so in your case please update your xorg.conf to reflect:
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
Screen 2 "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
would be better served by:
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 1280 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" 2560 0

3. Initially use only one metamode/modes per screen until issue
resolved.

4. Xinerama should be on "1".
Twinview should be "0". u r currently not using twinview.
This is good. u may need to put it in explicitly like
mine is to make sure it is forced.

5. lshw in gui can be found:
http://ezix.org/project/wiki/HardwareLiSter

Hope this helps.
Please post if any success or failure... as i would like to
learn from any source.

thanks.

Outaworkp0rnstar
June 17th, 2010, 11:21 PM
Thanks for the tips! Don't worry I've played this game before with two monitors so every time I change xorg.conf it gets a new version number and backed up!

I have two monitors working fine off the Nvidia card (currently in clone mode as not using twinview as you said until all monitors detected) but someone suggested that the Nvidia Quadro can take up to four monitors and if I just use a splitter off the second monitor cable it will show up through the nvidia-settings tool?

Will have to buy an adapter and give that a go but in the mean time here is my new xorg.conf - think the problem is with the Videocard2 device description as it won't bring up an image on the on board intel card. Probably using the wrong busID or something but I got it of $ lspci? Sure there is quite a few more errors but this is how we learn about conf file isn't it - test and adjust! And the error logs didn't like line 26 so I removed it!!

# Line 26
# Section "Files"
# RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
# EndSection




Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 1280 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" 2560 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection


Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:9:0"
Screen 0
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:9:0"
Screen 1
EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard2"
Driver "Intel"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "82865G Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
Screen 2
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "1280x1024 +0+0;
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1280x1024 +0+0"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Videocard2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1280x1024 +0+0"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Outaworkp0rnstar
June 20th, 2010, 05:58 AM
Couple of recent discoveries since my last post;

#1 - Quadro 440 takes up to four monitors but Quadro 280 only handles two.

#2 - Quadro NVS-280 is PCI, so when detected disables on board video in the BIOS.

Have now enabled onboard video in the BIOS and have a 3rd monitor working.

Just have to get all three to work together now!

Who really needs three monitors anyway...

tpatil
June 21st, 2010, 03:02 AM
> Couple of recent discoveries since my last post;
> #1 - Quadro 440 takes up to four monitors but Quadro 280 only handles two.
> #2 - Quadro NVS-280 is PCI, so when detected disables on board video in > the BIOS.
> Have now enabled onboard video in the BIOS and have a 3rd monitor working.
> Just have to get all three to work together now!
> Who really needs three monitors anyway...

GOOD!!
i am having some difficulty w/my other machine also.
i have two video cards there and the second one has conflicting memory
resource and/or IRQ issue w/onboard sound. DANG!!! and i do not have room
to install the second video card in another slot.
i need the three monitors as i need it for my work in IT. i have it working
properly in XP, win7, but, cannot get it to work on unbuntu yet. i can get
all three to turn on, but when that happens, ubuntu locks up at GNOME
login screen.

Any suggestions?
thanks,

Outaworkp0rnstar
June 21st, 2010, 06:53 AM
Progressing further each time. After doing a bit more homework pretty sure have confirmed problem to be a limitation of the BIOS to only allow on board video OR pci but not both as they use the same dev ID on system bus. When the PCI card was removed the on board Intel worked fine on its own. As soon as I plugged it back in with on board selected in the BIOS not PCI all three screens went black.

Even went right through booting up with Live CD (had to download i386 desktop version as i386 alternate doesn't give the Try Ubuntu option!) and managed to mount the / file system to edit the xorg.conf file;


sudo mount /dev/sda3 /mnt

(sda1 is /boot and sda2 is swap on my setup) then;


sudo gedit /mnt/etc/X11/xorg.conf

But alas it's a hardware issue. Anyway luckily I have a second spare Nvidia Quadro NVS280 and a spare PCI slot so will edit my xorg.conf to reflect having two of the same card installed while using the onboard, will then pop both PCI cards in (change the video default in the BIOS to PCI) and hope there isnt a conflict using the two PCI cards. Failing that I will be shopping for a card that can handle 3-4 monitors.

Will post working conf file if I manage to get it working. Thanks to all the other posts on other Ubuntu Forums threads as going through them searching for "Triple Monitors" has helped me get this far...

tpatil
June 21st, 2010, 03:12 PM
mine also seems to be a hardware issue as i can turnon all three monitors,
but computer halts like hardware conflict. somewhere i read that 9.04 has
better plymoth frontend and was changed in 10.04.
please keep me posted.

thanks.

Outaworkp0rnstar
July 3rd, 2010, 10:12 AM
Well I'm ready to just go back to dual monitors again. Every time I get passed one problem two more appear in its place! I've tried using two identical nvidia cards that can take 2 monitors each, I even went out and bought a USB to VGA adapter to try and get the third screen working but only got it as far as a pretty green screen so that went back to the shop. I've edited the xorg.conf file so many times I now have over 50 backups of it - none working with triple screens. Latest version;



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 1280 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" 2560 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection



Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection



Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:1:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:1:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:2:0"
EndSection



Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Device2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


Reading through a multiple of other threads it appears that problems with X Server and Nvidia drivers on all linux distors (not just Ubuntu) are the underlying cause but if you want to fix it work through the solutions on this page...

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg-server/+bug/563100

Usually the purpose of an upgrade is to improve things but unfortunately simplifying screen configuration obviously isn't high on the list of Ubuntu developers priorities and as much fun as scouring through forums on a Saturday night is - I'm giving up!

If anyone has got three monitors to work on 2 x Nvidia cards on 10.04 let me know!

Outaworkp0rnstar
July 3rd, 2010, 12:02 PM
NEWSFLASH - Three working monitors on Ubuntu 10.04 i386!!!

Firstly, followed the guide to patch X Server in the previous post;

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg-server/+bug/563100

With particular reference to post #42 by Mackenzie Morgan

And a little help from Ubuntu Wiki article;

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuPackagingGuide/BuildFromDebdiff (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuPackagingGuid/BuildFromDebdiff?highlight=%28debdiff%29)

Here's the commands (enter these into Terminal at your peril)...



sudo apt-get install build-essential fakeroot devscripts
cd /tmp
wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/49225420/xorg-server_1.7.6-2ubuntu7.1.debdiff
apt-get source xorg-server
sudo apt-get build-dep xorg-server
cd xorg-*
patch -p1 < ../xorg-server_1.7.6-2ubuntu7.1.debdiff
debuild -uc -us
sudo dpkg -i ../xorg-*.deb


Then copied a basic xorg.conf to start again from scratch...


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
DefaultDepth 24
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection


Swapped back to Nvidia driver version 96 -> reboot -> nvidia-settings;



sudo nvidia-settings


Finally detected all three monitors, moved them to correct position
(Primary screen centre with two seperate X screens either side)

Restarted & tested then enabled Xinerama, rebooted & working.

A little buggy with some freezing but will now test NV Driver 173 again.

Final working copy of new xorg.conf file - good luck punters!



Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 1280 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" 2560 0
Screen 2 "Screen2" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection



Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "IBM L170 TFT"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection



Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:9:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:10:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "Quadro NVS 55/280 PCI"
BusID "PCI:3:9:0"
Screen 1
EndSection



Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Device2"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

tpatil
July 4th, 2010, 03:24 PM
HIP! HIP! HURRAY!!!

you got it working finally!!

i am so frustrated that i gave it up for a while.
will look at all your comments and will see if i can
get mine to work.

will let you know.

thanks

Outaworkp0rnstar
July 7th, 2010, 08:31 AM
Don't get too excited. There is a bug as described in the previous posts links where I can work for a little while but the mouse then freezes moving between screens and forces a reboot - can't even Ctrl + Alt + Backspace to restart X.

Restarting about ten times a day so not the ideal setup but looks like you can't have a screen left of the main screen so may have to change the middle and left around to see if that works or find a patch. Here we go again...

ewano
September 16th, 2010, 09:31 PM
Did this restarting issue ever get fixed?

If so it may have been to do with:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg-server/+bug/563100

which was a bug in xorg which i think was fixed in version 1.8..

If you are still having problems maybe this will be of help.


I'm about to start looking into getting a triple head setup running again.

Any hints on mixing ATI and Nvidia cards? The machine is a Dell Dimension C521 with an on board nVidia gpu - but the discrete card specified by Dell was a low profile ATI X1300.

I've not actually purchased a card for this machine yet, so knowing if it's better to have a mixed setup or all the same chip set would be useful info.

I used to run an ATI Radeon 9700 AGP with a PCI Nvidia MX440 for my last triple head setup (under win2k back in the day), but I'm fairly new to more than 2 heads with Linux.

Any advice to offer?

tpatil
September 17th, 2010, 12:17 AM
i will take a look at the Xorg update soon as i am currently quite busy
w/win7 and have a 4 monitor setup.
IMO, i would stick w/same nvidia graphic cards. since the Dell has a nvidia, then get another nvidia card for the PCI slot, that way both the GPUs will be on the PCI bus. you can probably set default GPU in BIOS. once in Xorg control center, one can manipulate the different sceanrios and then save to Xorg.conf and then manipulate the text file.

please post as you get data as it helps me w/my venture to get this working w/3,4 monitors.

Outaworkp0rnstar
September 17th, 2010, 09:00 AM
Alas I can't help you my friend as the lock ups forced me to take the easy option and buy two bigger monitors. I would only buy hardware you can return if it doesn't work!