PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "grub rescue>" booting Problem after upgrading from 9.10 to 10.4

keamkaze
June 15th, 2010, 11:40 PM
Hi,

I had windows 7 and I just wanted to try ubuntu and I am totally new to linux, however, I installed ubuntu 9.10 using wubi and it was fine when I boot it asks me for windows or ubuntu no problems. Then it asked me to upgrade to 10.04 I agreed and installed it. After installition restrting it gave me this grub thing I don't know what to do I googled it but I couldn't fix the problem please help I need my computer soon.

Also I tried but I couldn't boot from windows or ubuntu cd.

this may help: if I printed "ls" it gives me "(hd0)"

I attached a screenshot check attachment...

bcbc
June 16th, 2010, 07:45 AM
Do you have an ubuntu CD you can boot in live CD mode (try without any changes)?

If so download and run the bootinfoscript (http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/) and post the results back here.

bumanie
June 16th, 2010, 10:38 AM
Important Note to Wubi (Windows Ubuntu) Users:
Grub2 updates in the spring of 2010 triggered a bug in the ntfs module causing Wubi boot failures. The solution to this boot problem was posted by Agostino Russo and is found in this Lucid Lynx LaunchPad Bug Report #477169, Post 210. The module causing the errors has been fixed and replacing the "wubildr" file in Windows permanently solves this problem. meierfra has kindly provided clear instructions on how to fix this problem at http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawik...lems:Wubi_9.10

Taken from here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275).

darkod
June 16th, 2010, 01:15 PM
First you need to boot into live mode with the ubuntu cd. You must be able to boot from the cd if cd-rom is before hdd in boot devices.

Then download the boot info script from my signature, run it and post the content of the results file as explained here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=8844901&postcount=4

keamkaze
June 16th, 2010, 05:10 PM