PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] boot partition full after install

klinger4077
June 15th, 2010, 11:05 PM
I am a Ubuntu newbie, so apologies if this is a silly question...

Today, I upgraded from 8.04 LTS to 10.04 LTS, my first upgrade. I had the problem (shown in the upgrade documentation) with nVidea driver not working. I clicked continue and everything seemed OK

At the end of the install, the upgrade GUI said it was not able to install certain components (it did not say, I presume the nVidea driver) and then it closed. It never did the "cleaning up" section of the upgrade.

I manually rebooted... and now it says the /boot partition is full (and it is)

Is there a way to manually kick off the cleanup process? I don't really know what I am doing, so don't want to manually delete files if I can avoid it

Thanks

pastalavista
June 15th, 2010, 11:18 PM
I manually rebooted... and now it says the /boot partition is full (and it isMore info... does it boot? what says /boot is full? If it boots, my advice is to run in terminal
sudo apt-get install -f && sudo apt-get autoclean autoremove

klinger4077
June 15th, 2010, 11:21 PM
yes, it rebooted fine -- and all appears well except an error message popped up saying /boot was full (it is 150Mb in size)

Many of the files on /boot are initrd.img....generic.bak

I presume those bak files are no longer needed but not sure

klinger4077
June 15th, 2010, 11:31 PM
BTW, I tried sudo apt-get autoclean autoremove

a number of things were cleaned up -- but nothing on /boot

I think several of the images are from much earlier versions of ubuntu
initrd.img-2.6.20-16-generic (and same with .bak)
initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic (and same with .bak)
and
quite a few with
initrd.img-2.6.24-##-generic (various versions ...)

klinger4077
June 16th, 2010, 12:12 AM
Hopefully, the full boot partition was my only other issue (besides the known nvidia problem)

If anyone has this problem going forward, I recommend this post