PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Not Sure...?

rob45
June 15th, 2010, 08:28 PM
Im new at running ubuntu...ive been running 9.10 and 10.04 as both upgrade from 9.10 and full install....i cant honestly see a great improvement from 9.10 to 10.04.But then im not running any fancy graphics card...stuck with the on board graphics of the unichrome igp thingy..?

Any way ive done alot of browsing in these forums...not because ive needed any help but because im that sad...and of course any info could come in usefull in the event that my system suddenly suffers from some unknown problem.

Im running a system thats built from ye old bits of gear abandoned by my son...chucked in to a tower...but hey..it works.
The motherboard is a via km400,it did have a gig of memory but one of the sticks died so i just have the 512/5..wotever in, its kingston brand .I have an 80gb hard disc i do have another even smaller one of 30gb but if i connect both they dont get picked up....think i need a new ide lead? Sound is provided by sound blaster 24bit.
I have a athlon amd???proccessor thing...that runs at 2.08...

I connect to the internet using a dongle 3G...pretty good.:)

Anyway the reason im posting this thread is because of a few problems im having....yea yea i know i said i wasnt having any probs ...just one or two niggly little things realy....something i could have learned to live with...put up with...but i dont want to.

ok heres a list...like i said not major issues just niggling little things....

1/ Being asked for my pass word at login screen...even though i chose to have the system boot straight into desktop...without requiring a password.

2/Password being asked for at login screen ,being asked for again....and again and again...in a never ending loop.

3/Password being rejected...not authenticated....at log in screen.

4/Not being offered upgrade to 10.04 desktop....despite installing all updates...about 300 in total for 9.10.