PDA

View Full Version : Moving on from n00b status

Basu
March 27th, 2006, 08:59 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for over 6 months now. I've learnt a lot of things and I think I'm between newbie and intermediate now. I'm now trying to get beyond that stange ot intermediate-advanced. Problem is, I don't know how. I'd like to eventually to be able to do to things like install and patch kernels without hassle and regularly compile, install and maybe fix new (unstable) stuff. You guys have any ideas on how I should proceed?

Jason_25
March 27th, 2006, 09:05 AM
Do you have a spare pc(s)? That way you can jump right into whatever dangerous thing you want to try.

Basu
March 27th, 2006, 09:08 AM
unfortunately, no. Not at the moment at least. But I was wondering, what sort of "dangerous thing" would be a good learning experience

ssam
March 27th, 2006, 09:15 AM
learning to program is a good way to learn about computers.

i recomend either bash scripting or python to start with. you can find more information in the programming forum.

Basu
March 27th, 2006, 09:29 AM
Please visit my blog (http://basu715.weblogs.us) for a more detailed version of what I want to do, as well as a partial battle plan. And thanks for being a great community!

Kvark
March 27th, 2006, 09:42 AM
I'm in the same position. The problem is that Ubuntu doesn't break to require you to learn how to fix it and it doesn't require you to learn how to compile stuff either.

The best solution seems to be to dual boot with Ubuntu plus a source based distro like Gentoo or Arch. Then you will have to get used to compiling, tweaking, breaking and fixing stuff real quick.

Another solution would be to help beta test Ubuntu's unstable development release. That should force you to learn how to find and fix problems plus trace and report bugs. But it sounds like Dapper is already too stable to be a challenge.