PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partition Query - Removing unwanted partition?

crispya
June 13th, 2010, 02:04 PM
Hi

I'm not very experienced with Ubuntu. I upgraded to 10.04 via Update Manager (maybe shouldn't have done that . . . ) and had some problems, so tried installing 9.10 from the disc. It installed okay but created another partition - so now presumably I have 3 - Ubuntu 9.10, Ubuntu 10.04 and Windows XP.

I would like to remove the reinstalled 9.10 if possible and go back to using 10.04. The default OS is 9.10 and when I look at the Boot Options on start up, there's a few Ubuntu options beneath it (2.6.31-2 and 2.6.32-2) and I'm not sure which one is which.

So my question is, would it be wise to go back to using 10.04 and remove 9.10? And if so, how to go about that? Any help would be appreciated as I'm quite new to this.

darkod
June 13th, 2010, 02:50 PM
Linux never installs in existing partition unless you use Manual Partitioning and tell it specifically which partitions to use. If you use the guided methods it will just create new installation as you noticed.

Deleting the 9.10 partitions is not a problem, but probably grub2 on the MBR is from 9.10 so you won't be able to boot anything if you just delete the partition.

If you select 10.04 from the grub menu, can you boot it? Does it work correctly?

Because you said you had some problems with it after the upgrade but didn't mention what type, can you boot it at all.

crispya
June 13th, 2010, 03:59 PM
Hi there

So far 10.04 seems to be working correctly, although I haven't tried to do much with it. The problem was that I thought it had mucked up my wireless connection - turns out that was the router and not Lucid Lynx. In a panic, I reinstalled 9.10, hoping to undo any problems caused by upgrading.