PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need help with opening and reading a txt file in C

technmom
June 11th, 2010, 07:11 PM
I'm learning C and will shortly be going on to C++. I need to open a file and read the line then check for a character. For now I just want to print the line out. I get a segmentation error when running. I'm brand new at C. I have really old old programming experience ( a lot of it but very long ago).

Here is my code (don't laugh I'm learning):

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int main()

{

int i;
int length;
char line [128];
char fname [128];

// Ask for filename of text file
printf("Enter c program filename: ");
FILE *fr = 0;
fgets (fname, 80, stdin);

//Open file

fr = fopen(fname, "r");
printf(" %s ", fname);

while ( fgets(line, sizeof(line), fr) != NULL)
printf("%s\n", line);

return 0;

}

soltanis
June 11th, 2010, 07:31 PM
You don't check to see if you opened the file successfully after the fopen call:

if (!(fr = fopen(fname, "r"))) {
perror("fopen");
exit(1);
}

Trying to read from a file pointer that is NULL will probably cause a segfault.

technmom
June 11th, 2010, 07:48 PM
Okay so I do get an error no such file or directory. Did I say I'm also new to Linux and the file paths.
I am trying to open the same file that I am compiling or another one in the same directory as the executable.
I suppose I need to enter the entire file path.

This brings me to another question. I have these c programs in my home directory because I don't really know the commands to navigate around and to tell terminal what to look for. I would like to organize them in another directory.

Bye the way exit gave me a compile warning:
mp1.c:26: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘exit’

dwhitney67
June 11th, 2010, 08:05 PM
soltanis is correct in that you should check to see if you successfully opened the file before attempting to read from it.