PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] yWriter5 does not work after upgrade to 10.04 Lucid

28_SNaKeS
June 11th, 2010, 03:36 PM
Hello there, Ubuntu Community!

I'm fairly new to Linux, but I love it. I can't stand Windows anymore!

Anyway, I've been using Ubuntu 9.10 for almost six months and decided to upgrade to 10.04. The only reason being was that I read somewhere that 10.04 supports iPod Touch "out of the box" and would allow me to organize add/remove music from it. Not that it matters, but it was my stepson's ipod that I wanted to connect, so I soley upgraded to help him out. Needless to say, after upgrading, it STILL didn't work. BAH!

Sorry for all the information you didn't even need to know ;)

Here's the problem:
Before upgrading to 10.04 I had already installed and had been using yWriter5, a novel writing software. I am using it to organize an adventure game I am writing. It's great software and is very helpful.

After the upgrade to 10.04, yWriter DOES NOT start anymore.

I get this following messege:
-------------------------------------
snake@snakepit:~/yWriter5/bin$ mono yWriter5.exe

** (yWriter5.exe:4171): WARNING **: The following assembly referenced from /home/snake/yWriter5/bin/yWriter5.exe could not be loaded:
Assembly: Microsoft.VisualBasic (assemblyref_index=1)
Version: 8.0.0.0
Public Key: b03f5f7f11d50a3a
The assembly was not found in the Global Assembly Cache, a path listed in the MONO_PATH environment variable, or in the location of the executing assembly (/home/snake/yWriter5/bin/).

** (yWriter5.exe:4171): WARNING **: Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.VisualBasic, Version=8.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies.
The entry point method could not be loaded
--------------------------------------

It acts as if the VisualBasic libraries aren't installed, but yet when I tried installing them again (to make sure) it says that they are already installed and are up to date.