PDA

View Full Version : [other] How to get back grub?!

amishra123
June 11th, 2010, 11:52 AM
Hi I previously had ubuntu 10.04 and windows 7 on dual boot with grub. But then I reinstalled Windows 7 and now there is no grub or anything and i cant get into linux!! I am on a netbook so dont have a cd or floppy drive either!!!
I have had some experience with SGD so i have tried using unetbootin with my usb but i keep getting "Bootmgr missing" when i try to boot from it !!!(i am sure it has worked before) Anyway where to go from now?! I guess i need to get the SGD working on my usb? Any help?
Thank you very much in advance Amishra

darkod
June 11th, 2010, 12:26 PM
You need to boot with a 10.04 ubuntu live usb stick and reinstall grub2 to the MBR of the disk. Detailed instructions are here, and make sure you use the instructions for 10.04:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708

Ichido
June 11th, 2010, 01:10 PM
When you Install/Reinstall M.S. windows, it will Wipe out everything on the drive.
This is Windows way of trying to be your Only O.S.

amishra123
June 12th, 2010, 07:28 AM
When you Install/Reinstall M.S. windows, it will Wipe out everything on the drive.
This is Windows way of trying to be your Only O.S.

No i had Ubuntu on a different partition so it should still be there!? Shouldn't it??! I selected my windows partition specifically for the install so fingers crossed its still there!!
Amishra

darkod
June 12th, 2010, 03:01 PM
No i had Ubuntu on a different partition so it should still be there!? Shouldn't it??! I selected my windows partition specifically for the install so fingers crossed its still there!!
Amishra

Don't worry, it should be there. It's not true that windows install wipes the hdd, it all depends what you tell it to do during the install.

Did you try to reinstall grub2 to the MBR with the instructions from my previous post?

amishra123
June 13th, 2010, 04:19 PM