PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install javac in ubuntu 10.04

raac
June 11th, 2010, 07:12 AM
Hi guys, I would appreciate if someone explains me from scratch and in detailed how can I install javac. I'm new with linux so please be specific in what to do. I found one post saying something about adding extra repositories but I don't know what repositories, where to add them, how to add them......Anyway, hope to hear from someone.

Thanks

lechien73
June 11th, 2010, 09:32 AM
I didn't have to add any new repositories, I installed it by:

Go to System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager
Type sun in the Quick Search box
Mark: sun-java6-javadb, sun-java6-jre, sun-java6-jdk for installation
Click Apply

If you're looking for a different version of java, then just type javac in the Quick Search box, and install one of the environments that Synaptic returns.

raac
June 11th, 2010, 05:05 PM
I tried that and it doesn't show none of those three packages,sun-java6.... none of those are in the synaptic package manager....what can I do??

darkod
June 11th, 2010, 05:12 PM
Open System-Administration-Software Sources and check which repositories are enabled (selected). The top two or three should be at least. If they are not, select them.

After that search again in Synaptic for sun-java6-jdk, that is the main package for development. javac is only the executable compiler name. The JDK, Java Development Kit is what you need for compiling applications.

The JRE is usually installed by default, that's the Runtime Environment you need for running java programs/apps, even the ones included on websites.

raac
June 11th, 2010, 05:24 PM
Actually the top four are selected, which are..

Canonical-supported Open Source software (main)
Community-maintained Open Source software(universe)
Proprietary drivers for devices(restricted)
Software restricted by copyright or legal issues(multiverse)

The one that is not selected is Source code

should i select it?? if not what can I do??