PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] nvidia proprietary drivers, resume from suspend.

wadam
June 10th, 2010, 02:51 PM
I have found frustratingly little about this online, so I thought that I'd ask here:

I have a GeForce 250 and am running the proprietary nvidia drivers on Lucid. I am able to suspend my computer. But when it resumes from suspend, one of two things happen: either I get an entirely blank display, or I get some colored blocky garbage on the screen that resembles ANSI art of old. In either case, my display is useless, and I have to do a hard reboot to correct the problem.

Is there any way to fix this so that I can suspend and resume normally?

Thanks.

efflandt
June 11th, 2010, 01:38 AM
I am no nVidia expert. But I installed 10.04 on an old Dell Inspiron 8200 I had temporarily while removing Windows viruses. And Ubuntu suggested installing the nVidia(96) driver.

I was unable to suspend or hibernate due to a different issue (polling non-existing floppy with hot swap drive bay). I eventually resolved that, but in the process, I installed uswsusp, since some people with suspend issues had success with that. That is not really necessary, but in reading on-line docs for uswsusp, it said that to properly suspend with nVidia binaries, you had to blacklist the agp module that Linux used and instead use the nVidia agp. To do that:

lsmod | grep agp and note any module containing agp other than agpart. In my case it was intel_agp. Create a file in /etc/modprobe.d/ using sudo nano or gksu gedit (I called it agp.conf). You can put a comment in that file if you want to (begin a comment line with #) and add the following, or whichever agp module you found:

blacklist intel_agp

Then using sudo or gksu for your editor, edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and add the following to the "Device" section (you can use tabs or spaces between fields):

Option "NvAGP" "1"

Reboot and see if suspend/resume work.