PDA

View Full Version : How did you get involved in programming?

insanecrazy4
June 10th, 2010, 12:26 AM
For about the past 3 years I've been trying to get a grip on programing. I always wanted to help make that greatest and best program but could never really find something that interests me. I never wanted to make money off of it. I started programming because I wanted to help make tools for MIRC that would help out the popular MMORPG Runescape and did an alright job with it. After a while I lost interest in the game and can't seem to keep that "grip" anymore. I tried learning an array of languages but can't seem to put them to use and eventually I forget them due to lack of practice. It never helped that my school never provided any programming classes.

How did you get involved in programming and what keeps you programming?

Barrucadu
June 10th, 2010, 01:32 AM
I'm not sure, I can't remember when I first gained an interest in programming as I was so young. I remember my dad getting me a large Visual Basic 6 Step by Step book…

shadylookin
June 10th, 2010, 01:47 AM
I enjoyed computers and decided to try CS in college. My motivation is that in general I enjoy solving problems, creating things, and working with computers. Getting paid to do it doesn't hurt either.

Perhaps it's just a useless anecdote, but I've been given the impression that a lot of beginners language hope in hope of finding a silver bullet that just isn't there. Or that they honestly believe the book title and think they can actually "Teach yourself X in Y days." Then they end up getting bored and frustrated and give up. Also programming just won't interest most people, and there's no real reason to force yourself to try and like it.

dtfinch
June 10th, 2010, 01:57 AM