PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Getting Kubuntu on One CD

corrytonapple
June 9th, 2010, 08:44 PM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu/Kubuntu so this may be a bad question.
Can I fit Kubuntu on one 702mb cd to be used as a live cd?
Thanks for your time.
--Corrytonapple

zvacet
June 9th, 2010, 11:02 PM
I looked here (http://hr.releases.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/10.04/) and all Kubuntu´s are < 700MB except Kubuntu netbook.

corrytonapple
June 9th, 2010, 11:29 PM
When I googled I came upon http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily/current/

NightwishFan
June 9th, 2010, 11:31 PM
Here is the proper place my friend. I advise you use the bittorrent download if possible.

http://www.kubuntu.org/getkubuntu/download

Or if you just need the 32-bit Live CD: http://releases.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/lucid/kubuntu-10.04-desktop-i386.iso

corrytonapple
June 9th, 2010, 11:48 PM
It says nearly 700MB. Will it expand and not make it fit? Right now I need the desktop version. This CD is not formatted.

NightwishFan
June 9th, 2010, 11:52 PM
Yes, the desktop edition iso will work with any cd or dvd with 700mb. Here is another howto:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto

If the disk is blank, you do not need to format it.

corrytonapple
June 10th, 2010, 12:32 AM
One last question: I have a 64 bit processor and Windows 7 (sorry) is 64 bit, so should I get the 64 bit version. I am maxed out at 4GB of memory.
--Corrytonapple

wilee-nilee
June 10th, 2010, 12:38 AM
One last question: I have a 64 bit processor and Windows 7 (sorry) is 64 bit, so should I get the 64 bit version. I am maxed out at 4GB of memory.
--Corrytonapple

Your daily link is for maverick this is very early in the testing so not a good choice, if you want to eventually install. I didn't look at the other links but I wouldn't try anything beyond Lucid, especially if your new to Ubuntu or Linux in general.

corrytonapple
June 10th, 2010, 02:44 AM
When I use the bittorrent does it install kubuntu on my hard drive? I am short on disc space.