PDA

View Full Version : Do you too love to bury your head in the sand?

handy
June 9th, 2010, 02:37 PM
I have been using various parts of the Ubuntu forum for well over 4 years now.

Something that I'd like to impart to the newly acquainted, which I have managed to learn about (eventually) is that there exists something that is really helpful to OUR user experience; many UF members don't know about this yet.

What is it you may ask?

It is the ability to block the input from people that we as individuals consider to be trolls; or as is far more common, those people that are just plain obnoxious as far as our personal sensibilities are concerned.

This inbuilt ability of the forum BB software to block the posts of the offensive & insensitive members of the forum that are obviously suffering from medically documented syndromes, which everyone except their mothers & their legal teams are aware of is a cause for great relief for those of us who are free from such disturbance.

I block them, why wouldn't you?

If you do block them of course, then they don't exist... Quantum physics in its simplest form. If you don't look at them, then they don't exist...

Back to our physical reality; you know that the awareness of these syndromes, & the fact that they are the pathological motivation of aberrant chauvinistic behaviour, makes it so much easier for those of us that are sane to deal with.

Knowing & understanding that the afflicted are what they are, makes it so much easier for us. We who are motivated by the goodness in our hearts should try to help them whenever we can, & do what we can in an effort to ignore the insanity that they live by.

whiskeylover
June 9th, 2010, 03:25 PM
I wish they had the ability to block mods if you wanted. Currently, blocking mods from PMing/harassing you isn't allowed.

handy
June 9th, 2010, 03:33 PM
I wish they had the ability to block mods if you wanted. Currently, blocking mods from PMing/harassing you isn't allowed.