PDA

View Full Version : Perl/Ruby/Python which way?

eroomydna
June 9th, 2010, 12:09 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a DBA by trade using Ubuntu Desktop and administering RHEL5.4, Windows 2008, SQL Server and MySQL5.1. I'm developing my BASH skills day-to-day and I've been curious about other languages namely Ruby, Perl and Python.

I'm not really sure of the direction to take but am leaning more towards Ruby or Perl. As a linux based DBA, Perl would be a great feather in my cap as there's lots of tools written in perl but I also use Ruby on Rails so a deeper understanding of Ruby would also be advantageous.

Please let me know your opinion.

Andy

Bachstelze
June 9th, 2010, 12:19 PM
You've pretty much answered your own question. ;) If you have to work with a lot of Perl and Ruby tools, then it would probably be best to learn those langues, so you can for example modify those tools to better suit your need.

It really depends on what you want to do with it, for example Perl is mostly geared towars text manipulation, while Python is more of an all-around language, with a very extensive library to do a lot of things (network-aware, graphical or multithreaded applications, for exmaple).

shawnhcorey
June 9th, 2010, 01:49 PM
I use Perl; here's why:

$ ruby -v
ruby 1.8.7 (2010-01-10 patchlevel 249) [powerpc-linux]
$ irb
irb(main):001:0> 1/2
=> 0
irb(main):002:0> exit

$ python
Python 2.6.5 (r265:79063, Apr 16 2010, 15:32:38)
[GCC 4.4.3] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> 1/2
>>>

$ perl -ple '$_=eval'
1/2
exit

Perl is the only one that gets it right.

If you're interested in Perl, then check out the following:

perl.org (http://www.perl.org/) -- the official site for Perl. Especially, look at their mailing lists.

Perl Programming Documentation (http://perldoc.perl.org/) -- an online resource of all the standard Perl documentation.

CPAN (http://www.cpan.org/) -- Comprehensive Perl Archive Network, many, many modules for Perl