PDA

View Full Version : C++ includes and dependencies issues with glib

FiberOptix
June 8th, 2010, 08:34 PM
Hey all,

First, I caution you that I'm a complete beginner with C++ so please bear with me. In case you're wondering, I'm trying to use the Gwyddion libraries. I suspect that there are very few people viewing this thread that have some experience with them, but I hope I'm wrong.

The gwyddion libraries depend heavily on glib. After installing libglib-2.0, I note that the header files can be found in /usr/include/glib-2.0, which I have to link in the Makefile with -I so that g++ can find all the other header files when I #include <glib-2.0/glib.h>. However, even when I #include <glib-2.0/glib.h> I still find that g++ complains about certain types i.e. "‘guint32’ does not name a type" and "‘GQuark’ has not been declared." Further, it still can't locate some of it's own header files "/usr/include/glib-2.0/glib/gtypes.h:34:24: error: glibconfig.h: No such file or directory"

None of the posted examples with the libraries I'm trying to use actually work, and it's mostly due to these sorts of errors. Since I'm unfamiliar with standard practices with respect to this sort of thing with C++, I think I must be missing something fairly big.

Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

nvteighen
June 9th, 2010, 08:53 AM
Hey all,

First, I caution you that I'm a complete beginner with C++ so please bear with me. In case you're wondering, I'm trying to use the Gwyddion libraries. I suspect that there are very few people viewing this thread that have some experience with them, but I hope I'm wrong.