PDA

View Full Version : Ever Consider Going Back to WIndows?

mamamia88
June 8th, 2010, 02:11 AM
I am seriously considering it because I can no longer mount any usb devices and seeing how I listen to a lot of podcasts and am in college I need to be able to access my mp3 player and flash drive. so has anyone ever seriously considered it? also if anyone has a fix for this let me know please tried absolute beginner talk and google with no luck

mamamia88
June 8th, 2010, 02:13 AM
screenshot of error drving me crazy

FuturePilot
June 8th, 2010, 02:18 AM
Does it work from the live CD? If it does then it's just a matter of finding out what is wrong with your setup and most likely not a hardware problem.

Timmer1240
June 8th, 2010, 02:20 AM
You might want to ask in the general help section someone there could help you!

mamamia88
it works fine on a sabayon live cd

kaldor
Does it work from the live CD? If it does then it's just a matter of finding out what is wrong with your setup and most likely not a hardware problem.

Sounds more like hardware to me.

Either way, why go back to Windows? Ubuntu isn't the only easy to use distro :). In my opinion it's buggier than most.

mamamia88
June 8th, 2010, 02:26 AM
I don't know I really don't feel like messing with my computer right now I just want to get this problem fixed. I'm pretty sure it's not hardware since it worked from live cd environment earlier

forrestcupp
June 8th, 2010, 02:26 AM
If it works with Sabayon, it's probably not a hardware problem. Still, I'd hate to go through everything it takes to go back to Windows and it still not work.

CharmyBee
June 8th, 2010, 02:28 AM
Oh, i've considered it. I've considered it enough that i'm back on Windows already without regret of missing functionality.

Is that USB storage thing a Sandisk? I know at least they have annoying drivers on their Cruzer to make it exclusively only write until you uninstall its software.

mamamia88
June 8th, 2010, 02:33 AM