PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't mount blackberry - Please Help

Yehudah
June 7th, 2010, 02:42 PM
I have installed Ubuntu 10.4 LTS onto my Dell 1536 AMD laptop. I've been struggling for two weeks with several issues. I'm not a newbie to Ubuntu, but I've become very frustrated with this version and I'm close to needing to go back to W7 (yeck).

I have surfed these and other forums for almost two weeks now and have used workarounds and supposed fixes that don't work. Here is one of my issues:

When I attach my blackberry curve 8530, it charges which is sweet, but I cannot mount the media card or the phones memory. I did lsusb and it sees the "RIM" device... but no matter what I try, it won't see the cards. I don't need to use Barry or sync or backup, I just want to be able to transfer files.

Can anyone assist me with this?

Dportner
July 6th, 2010, 07:16 AM
i got the same problem when i updated to 10.04
found an answer??

SpyderBite
July 7th, 2010, 02:47 AM
When I attach my blackberry curve 8530, it charges which is sweet, but I cannot mount the media card or the phones memory. I did lsusb and it sees the "RIM" device... but no matter what I try, it won't see the cards.

Exactly the same problem here since installing 10.04. In Karmic I never had a problem. No mass storage settings in the BB options have changed and as said before.. lsusb lists the blackberry. Have updated my usbids with sudo update-usbids but still a no-go.

SpyderBite
July 7th, 2010, 07:15 PM
Fixed it with a complete driver update...

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

Done.. recognized my Tour half way through the upgrade process. Now, to get it to work in Virtual Machine next! :)

Update: That only worked on my Dell Latitude X1 notebook. On my newer XPS 420 desktop no mass storage devices are recognised when plugged in. I've tried every solution on these forums and via google search. Even tried different USB cables and a different device of the same model. Still stuck.

SpyderBite